The Club América vs Deportivo Toluca F.c. Timeline- Review

Club América vs Deportivo Toluca F.c. Timeline

Last updated on March 20th, 2024 at 07:39 pm

Soccer, or association football, is the most popular sport in the world. Football has nearly 3.5 billion fans worldwide. Most fans come from Asia, Europe, America, and Africa.

People are so passionate about this sport that they will fight for their favorite team. Imagine the rage of athletes during this high-energy game if fans can reach this level. Football rivalries often go beyond sports and involve deep-seated historical, cultural, and political tensions between teams or regions. Club América vs. Deportivo Toluca F.c. is an old football rivalry.

I will give you a historical ride to describe their rivalry and all the critical events of Club América vs Deportivo Toluca F.c. Timeline. Stay tuned if you are a true fan of football!

Club América

Screenshot 2023 03 13T154401.121 11zon
Club América vs Deportivo Toluca F.c. Timeline

Club America (Club de Fútbol América S.A. de C.V.) is a renowned Mexican football club. Fans call it by a name “Las Águilas (The Eagles).” Club America was founded in 1916, and since then, it has brought multiple trophies to the country. It also competes in Liga MX and has won thirteen matches. Rafael Garza Gutiérrez founded this club, but currently, Televisa owns Club America.

Important Events of Club América

1924: Club América wins its first championship in the Liga Mayor.

1954: Club América moves to the Estadio Azteca, which would become its home stadium.

1971: Club América wins its first CONCACAF Champions Cup.

1985: Club América wins its second CONCACAF Champions’ Cup.

1987: Club América wins its third CONCACAF Champions’ Cup.

1998: Club América wins its fourth CONCACAF Champions’ Cup.

2013: Club América wins its eleventh Liga MX championship.

2018: Club América wins its thirteenth Liga MX championship.

2020: Club América celebrates its 104th anniversary.

Star Players of Club America

Club America is one of the big four clubs in Mexico. This club has many talented players that can blow your mind with their football skills. Some of the most famous stars of club America are the following:

  • Pablo Aguilar
  • Oribe Peralta
  • Bruno Valdez
  • Cuauhtémoc Blanco

Deportivo Toluca F.C

Screenshot 2023 03 13T155413.526 11zon
Club América vs Deportivo Toluca F.c. Timeline

Toluca was founded in 1917 in Mexican City. Grupo Salinas own Deportive Toluca (Deportivo Toluca Fútbol Club S.A. de C.V.). The team has won 9 Liga MX titles and Primera division matches ten times. Furthermore, this club also won two CONCACAF and two COPA MX.

Important Events of Deportivo Toluca F.c. Timeline

1952: Deportivo Toluca wins its first championship in the Segunda División.

1967: Deportivo Toluca is promoted to the Primera División.

1968: Deportivo Toluca wins its first championship in the Primera División.

1975: Deportivo Toluca wins its second championship in the Primera División.

1986: Deportivo Toluca wins its third championship in the Primera División.

2000: Deportivo Toluca wins its fourth championship in the Primera División.

2002: Deportivo Toluca wins its fifth championship in the Primera División.

2003: Deportivo Toluca wins its sixth championship in the Primera División.

2006: Deportivo Toluca wins its seventh championship in the Primera División.

2018: Deportivo Toluca celebrates its 101st anniversary.

Star Players of Deportivo Toluca F.C

Famous teams give birth to star players. Deportive Toluca F.C. also has many skilled footballers. Some of them are mentioned below:

  • Antonio Carbajal
  • Antonio Nealson or Sinha
  • José Cardozo
  • Alfredo Talavera
  • Paulo da Silva

The History of Rivalry Between Club América and Deportivo Toluca F.c. Timeline

The rivalry between Club América and Deportivo Toluca F.C. is one of the most intense in Mexican football history. Since their first meeting in the Mexican Primera División in 1949, the two sides have faced each other 151 times. Club América won 58 matches, and Toluca won 45.

The 1977 Copa México final was a memorable encounter between the two clubs, with América emerging victors. However, Toluca got their revenge the following year by defeating América in the final of the same competition. The 1980s saw some heated matches, including the 1983/84 season, where they met four times quickly, with Toluca winning the league title.

The Liga MX Clausura 2018 championship saw Club América win 3-1 on aggregate to secure the championship. Additionally, Liga MX Clausura 2012 final, in which Santos Laguna defeated Deportivo Toluca F.C. on penalties. And the Copa MX Apertura 2012 last, in which Deportivo Toluca F.C. defeated Cruz Azul. The games mentioned above were two unforgettable encounters.

Club América has had more recent success, winning the Liga MX championship in the Clausura 2019 and Apertura seasons of 2018. Deportivo Toluca F.C. hasn’t captured a Liga MX championship since the 2010 Apertura campaign. Nonetheless, the intense rivalry between these two clubs continues to captivate fans. Every match between them was an exciting spectacle.

Related Articles:

Best Stream2Watch Alternatives To Watch Live Sports

What Is NFLbite?


Everyone has a favorite sport, and most people follow football globally. Rivalries are a part of this intense game because of its nature. Club America vs. Deportivo Toluca F.C. is one of the oldest and most intense rivalries in the history of Mexico.

Both teams are best in their ways. I find many similarities between Club America and Toluca F.C. Fans should enjoy their matches without showing rage because they are worthy opponents.

Scroll to Top